2015 Chaffin Award

Some good news to share:

Knoxville, TN, September 10 – Dr. Charles Dodd White, an assistant professor in Pellissippi State’s Department of English, has received the prestigious Thomas and Lillie D. Chaffin Award given by Morehead State University in Kentucky.

The award, which includes a prize of $1,000, recognizes outstanding Appalachian writers in all genres. The first award was presented in 1996 to poet and novelist James Still and the list of winners since includes Ron Rash, Denise Giardina, Silas House, Crystal Wilkinson, Anne Pancake, and Donald Ray Pollock.

He is author of the novels, A Shelter of Others (2014), Lambs of Men (2010), and the story collection, Sinners of Sanction County (2011). He is also editor of the contemporary Appalachian story anthologies, Degrees of Elevation (2010) and Appalachia Now (2015).  Previously, he has been awarded the Jean Ritchie Fellowship from Lincoln Memorial University and an individual artist’s grant from the North Carolina Arts Council.

One thought on “2015 Chaffin Award

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s